Let’s Talk About Duck Dynasty…

Well, I’ve spent the last twenty-four hours dodging the bullets that have been flying over this Phil Robertson situation.  I’m stepping out from behind the tree where I’ve been hiding to enter the fray.

I don’t know what your Facebook newsfeed looks like, but in my little slice of cyber space I can’t help but notice a lot of the shots are being aimed between Christians. Spiritual condescension oozes from statements such as, “With everything going on in our world today…you’re getting riled up about a stupid TV show?”  These words imply that being concerned over the uproar that occurs when a person of faith expresses their beliefs is somehow beneath a “true” Christian. Because we all know all the “real” Christians are out saving people from sexual slavery or feeding the poor. They don’t have time to even notice there is a TV show called Duck Dynasty. Call me crazy, but I thought I could care about the fact that Christianity is constantly being shamed in this country and these other issues.

Not to be outdone there is a “righteously” outraged reply from the other side, “You just sit there and watch our country swirl down the toilet. I’m going to stand up for Christianity!” Ummmm… most of you simply clicked the like button on a Stand With Phil Facebook page.  I don’t know how to break it to you, but with that action you didn’t single handedly save Biblical principles from extinction. To truly carry on the legacy of our faith we have to live it out. You know, in the real world, amidst the everyday grind of life. So stop patting yourself on the back. It looks silly. And you’re going to strain a muscle.

Of course, lots of Scripture is being quoted at one another. Because we are really good at that. As a matter of fact, since I’ve probably made both sides mad at me with this little blog, I had better take cover again. If there is one thing experience has taught me it’s that Christians can be brutal.

Behold, how they loathe one another.

~T.

Standard

Leave a Reply

